it’ll be a breeze

February 23, 2009 § 2 Comments

Ich läuft.
Bin ich ein Läufer?
__________________________

My dad asked me Sunday if I wanted to do the Rock and Roll Half Marathon with my folks, brother and aunt…I responded “I’m already planning on it! Decided to join a group of my coworkers last month!” I’m pretty stoked to find out that my family is going to be participating in this too. At this point, I’m trying to figure out how much of it I’ll be able to run…which basically depends on how much time I’m willing to dedicate to running and training to run 13 miles in one swoop!

I’ve been working out regularly the last couple of months-focusing on my core and improving endurance. But have been focusing this time on improving my stamina so I can make a painless return to rowing this spring. But as I’m always looking for a challenge, I started looking at some training plans for running a half marathon last week…they don’t seem too bad…well, it is extremely daunting thinking about such long runs, but there is something in the back of my head that always makes its voice known when challenging things present themselves…the voice cajoles me to “do it. do it! its going to be tough, but you know you want to…come on!” I haven’t responded to this voice yet. I’m worried that I can sometimes decide on rather lofty goals and not necessarily be realistic about them. This is actually something I’m really working on right now-setting realistic goals. So, for now, I’m going to let the voice talk and let the idea percolate a bit more before I respond.

Since summer, when I first read about his dedication to running, I’ve been majorly impressed by Haruki Murakami’s interest in the sport. I had read about Murakami’s new book What I Talk About When I Talk About Running in the New Yorker and decided almost immediately to be a “Murakami runner.”

I am majorly impressed by his dedication to both writing and running and the way he approaches each. When he started running regularly-at the age of 33-the only thing that he required of himself each day was that he run..it didn’t matter the time or distance, but the fact that he did it! I love it! He stopped smoking and has run numerous marathons.

His attitude, take on life and awesome stories and books have made him one of my favorite authors! I haven’t read everything that he’s written, but of what I’ve read, my faves at this point are Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World and Dance Dance Dance….

*random Murakami experience* When I was waiting for a train at good ole Suburban Station in downtown Philly a few years ago, I saw a dude reading South of the Border, West of the Sun and decided to ask him about it as I hadn’t heard of it before, but saw that it was by Murakami. I got into a long, yet AWESOME discussion with this dude about Murakami, Hard Boiled Wonderland…and Japan. Such an awesome way to kill time waiting for the train…sometimes its so awesome to start conversations with complete strangers..sometimes not so much!

_________________

More reading about running…I’m almost done reading The Time Traveler’s Wife. It has been a great pleasure reading this book, even through the sad parts! Such a unique love story and different take on time travel….And as I’ve been thinking about running so much lately, its been really interesting reading about Henry-one of the main characters-and why he runs each day. I don’t want to give anything away for people who have not had the opportunity to read this yet, but I’m happy to know I’ll never run each day for the same reason as Henry. Even so, his dedication is inspiring!

_________________________________________________________
my time and energy this week go to:

new home

new home
______________________________________________

“let her down easy please. can’t you see, she believes”

§ 2 Responses to it’ll be a breeze

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading it’ll be a breeze at the birth and death of the day....

meta

