“if you’ll wait around a while…”

November 8, 2008 § 3 Comments

what I’ve decided:

I’m going to chill the fuck out. To do this I’m going go to accupuncture for the first time. I’m also going to start seeing a counselor. My stress and anxiety are through the roof! Any advice is much appreciated. What I already know is not working….

I love lists

I think way too much about shit sometimes and take on too much. See above about chilling out!

I love the song “The Promise” by When in Rome. Thanks for the mix Jeremy! I hadn’t heard this song in a while and its just so great. The lyrics “I’m sorry but I’m just thinking of the right words to say. I know they don’t sound the way I planned them to be. But if you’ll wait around a while…..”

I absolutely love this graphic novel I started at the library yesterday after work called Blankets. I read like 200 pages at the library and stopped at like 450 before I went to bed. The art is beautiful. Black and white and full of emotion. There were a few pages where I laughed out loud and couldn’t stop laughing. It had to do with Craig, the author/artist, and his brother, Philip-who shared a bed growing up-peeing on each other one evening in sorta of a peeing war. This started when Philip teased Craig, while they laid in bed, that he had peed exactly one drop of pee on Craig. Really he had just licked his finger and put it on his brother’s back. It sounds childish and it is and its what makes it so awesome! Its very real and raw and hilarious the way it plays out. The expressions on the characters’ faces are amazing. It was the first time I laughed like that while reading a book/graphic novel/whatev in a long time. So, yeah, this is an autobiography about this dude’s family life and falling in love the first time his senior year of high school. He was raised in a rural Wisconsin town as an evangelical who didn’t ever fit in at school or in his religion and I think it’ll get to how he moves away from Christianity. Its not a religious book, but rather religion is a part of his character…The relationship between him and his brother and him and his first love are so tender and sweet at moments….its just beautiful.

My love of Mark Rothko continues.

Passion is essential.

§ 3 Responses to “if you’ll wait around a while…”

  • Alison says:

    i heard about Blankets a while ago – i had heard it was really good and meant to read it! guess i should add it to my list… 🙂 good for you taking care of yourself. i think acupuncture would freak me out a little but i know it helps people sometimes. and therapy is never a bad thing. i’d say the biggest thing here is that you are recognizing that what you’re doing isn’t working and it’s time to try something new. that can be a very hard realization to come to, so i’d say you’re well on your way 🙂 i hope those help with the stress and anxiety!

  • morganel says:

    Blankets is great! I just totally got caught up in it right away!

    I’m a bit nervous about the acupuncture, but I’ve heard such great things about it! I figure its worth a try! I’m excited to not have kids at school tomorrow and Tuesday and then Thursday afternoon, I take off for Phoenix! So! Only two days with the ole kid-aroos this week! Pretty stoked on getting some planning and non-teaching work done!!!

    Thanks for the comment! Also!! I hadn’t checked your blog for quite a while and when going through it the other day TOTALLY enjoyed that commercial about voting (Don’t vote/vote) Were they playing that on tv?! How’s Boston? Getting cold yet?

  • shola says:

    morgan. i have anxiety too and making lists is one of my favorite ways to feel in control (for a bit atleast anyway). but i always make sure to add in something that i know i’ll absolutly enjoy stress free! for me it’s going to the book store for a few hours and slowly flipping through my favorite magazines or looking at heavy travel books while drinking peppermint tea.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “if you’ll wait around a while…” at the birth and death of the day....

meta

