bits and pieces

October 31, 2008 § Leave a comment

check it before you wreck it
______________________________________________

Until last night, the only Abbot and Costello act I had heard or seen was “Who’s on First?” This is totally classic and totally awesome. I don’t know why I hadn’t checked out their other stuff. Anyway. I saw Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein last night and I just totally fell in love with Lou Costello. He is dorky, silly and goofy and so funny! His slapstick type stuff totally reminds me of Woody Allen ala Sleeper or my friend Andy!
______________________________________________________

As I’m totally behind on This American Life podcasts, I listened to this one on fearing sleep while I was working out the other night. I often have problems with sleep and was hopeful I could maybe relate to someone in these acts/stories. Well, my sleep problems are ridiculous and trivial compared to these people. I learned more than I cared to about bedbugs (not just in the bed! but like coming out of the walls and floorboards!?) and roaches (making their way into people’s ears as they sleep?!) and really liked (and was quite disturbed by) the stories of people who totally freak the fuck out while they’re sleeping! The dude’s story about his stay at the La Quinta Inn was insane!
_____________________________________________________________

-sounds-

No Band Is An Island.Knw-Yr-Own Records compilation
Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains
Deerhoof.Offend Maggie
Deerhunter.Microcastle
TV on the Radio. Dear Science
Atlas Sound.Let the Blind Lead Those Who Can See But Cannot Feel
High Places
Syd Barrett. The Madcap Laughs

-cinema-

Synecdoche, New York
Catherine Keener, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Samantha Morton, Dianne Wiest….the actors: amazing; the plot: interesting enough with the possibility of being great. I’m in.

Un conte de Noël I don’t think this is out for a bit, but Melvil Poupaud *sigh* and Catherine Deneuve are in it and the preview looks super!

*sitting alone at the movies*

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading bits and pieces at the birth and death of the day....

meta